5th International conference on the child
Children and Poverty: The Impact of Economic, Social and Political Choices

Date: May 23, 24 and 25, 2002, Montreal, QC

Objectives of the conference:

  • Economic, social and political choices that can impact tremendously on the question of poverty and the plight of children.
  • The Reality of Poverty;
  • Children and Poverty Throughout the World;
  • The Impact of Economic, Social and Political Choices.

Invited speakers:

  • Sadig Rasheed, Ph.D. Director, Program division Unicef
  • Nicole Lebrun, Ph.D. Professor at the department of education at the University of Québec in Montréal , Québec, Canada
  • Louise Morley & Jim Ife, Ph.D. Professor And Head, School Of Social Work & Social Policy Curtin University Of Technology Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Kristin M. Ferguson, M.S.W. Social Work Department University Of Texas At Arlington Social Work Faculty, The Autonomous University Of Nuevo Leon, Dual Degree Doctoral Program In Comparative Social Welfare Policy And Social Work, Annandale, Virginia, U.S.A.
  • Micheline Mayer, Ph.D. Senior researcher at the institute for the social development of children, Montréal, Québec, Canada
  • Pierre Nolin, Ph.D. Professor, department of group psychology for the development of children, University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières, Québec, Canada
  • Sarah Dufour, Ph.D. Research coordinator, Excellence center for the protection of youth and the well-being of children, Montréal, Québec, Canada
  • Maria Stergiou, M.A. Doctoral Candidate Department Of Educational And Counselling Psychology, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Organizing-president: Ricaardoe Di Done

Co-president of the organizing committee: Dr. Rashmi Mayur president of People’s Global Assembly.

William Rowe, Co-Chair, Scientific Committee and Director, School of Social Work, University of South Florida

Honorable Herbert Marx, Co-Chair, Scientific Committee and Justice, Quebec Superior Court

Proceedings of the symposium available on Theodone.com

JOFIN MOULD, M.S.W, R,S.W., Children’s Advocate, Northern Alberta Director, 
Alberta Family Social Services, President, The Canadian Association of Social Workers, 
Co-Chair of the Honour Committee

LIZ O’NEILL, Executive Director, Big Sisters arid Big Brothers Society, 
Co-Chair of the Honour Committee

Harata H. Baucke, President, Aotearoa New Zealand, Association of Social Workers

Frank Carbone, President, Rosmar Litho Inc.

Andre-H. Dandavino, M.D., President, Association des médecins de langue française du Canada

Linda Kisiowicz, Executive Director, Jewish Family Services

The Right Honorable Antonio Lamer, Former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, 
Special Advisor, Stikeman, Elliott

Louise Landry, President, Ordre des coniseillers et conseilleres d’orientation et des
psychoéducateurs et psychoéducatrices du Québec

Jack W. Lee, G.M., F.I.B.A., Member, Order of Canada

Henri Masse, President, Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec FTQ)

Pat Mmnicucci, Senior Vice-President, Retail and SME Banking, Quebec Region, Scotia Bank

Eugenla Repetur Moreno, M.S.W.(Equlv), Executive Director, Canadian Association of Social Workers

Brian F. O’Neill, Consultant, National Hockey League

Monique Coté Petit, President, Executive Director, Association des puéricultrices de la
Province de Québec

Ailson Palin, Director General, Hilton Montreal Airport Hotel

John Ruggieri, Principal, Di Caprio Ruggieri Inc., Member of the Board of Directors,
Indemnity fund of Bureau des services financiers

Michele Thibodeau-DeGuire, President and Executive Director, Centraide of Greater Montreal

Peter B. Yeomans, Mayor of City of Dorval

HONORABLE HERBERT MARX, Justice Quebec Superior Court Legal Department,
Co-Chair of the Scientific Committee

WILLIAM ROWE, D.S.W., Director, School of Social Work, McGill University, 
Co-Chair of the Scientific Committee

Peter Allik-Petersenn, B,A., LL,B, Lawyer and Family Mediator, Director, O.P.C.R, British Columbia

Adrian Bercovici, Executive Director, Generations Foundation

Dorival C. Bruni, Ph.D., Professor, University of Rio de Janeiro

Richard Cloutier, Ph.D., Professor, Psychology, Université Laval à Québec

Katherine Covell, Ph.D., Professor, Psychology, University College Cape Breton, 
Director, Children’s Rights Centre

Dominic D’Abate, Ph.D., Accredited Family Mediator, Director, Consensus Mediation Center

Riccardo Di Done, Founding President, O.P.C.R., President of the 5th international conference

Antonio Discepola, E.A., B.C.L., Judge, Municipal Court in Montreal

Me Angela Ficca, B.A., LL.L., LL.M., Lawyer, O.P.C.R.

Bernard Fortin, BA., L.L., L. Péd., Responsible for the organizing committee

Me Richard Goldman, B.A., B,C.L., LL.B., Legal Clinic Supervisor, Project Genesis

Donald Horne, Executive Director, Kahnawake Community Services

Brian R. Howe, Ph.D., Professor, Political Science, University College Cape Breton, 
Director, Children’s Rights Centre

Carl Lacharite, PhD., Professor, Psychology and Director of GREDEF, Université du Québec
a Trois-Rivieres

France Laurendeau, Director, Research Department, Fédération des travailleurs
et travailleuses du Québec

Me Hugues Letourneau, LL.M., Legal Department, Youth Centers of Montreal

Justin Lévesque, Ph.D., Professor, School of Social Work, University of Montreal

Edgar A. MacLeod, B.A., Vice-President, Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, Chief of Police, Cape Breton Regional Police Service

Me Tony Manglaviti, B.A., LL.L., Commissioner, Immigration and Refugee Board

Rashmi Mayur, Ph.D., Director, International Institute for Sustainable Future, 
President, People’s Global Assembly, United Nations, Mumbai, India

Aldo Morrone, B.A., Family Mediator, Family Mediation Service of Youth Centers of Montreal

Arthur Neumann, Ph.D., Clinical Psychologist, Director, O.P.C.R. Alberta

Godwin O. Ohiwerei, Ph.D., Chairman, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, 
New Jersey City University

Jean Panet-Raymond, LL.L., M.Sc., Professor, School of Social Work, University of Montreal

Laurel Rothman, M.S.W., National Coordinator, Campaign 2000, Director of Social Action,
Family Service Association, Judge, Municipal Court in Montreal of Toronto

Joanne Roulston, M.S.W., Director, National Council of Welfare

François Ruegg, Ph.D., Anthropologist, Lecturer and Director of Research,
Institute of Ethnology of the University of Fribourg, (Switzerland)

Katherine Scott, MES, Senior Policy Associate, Canadian Council on Social Development

Philip Shaposnick, BA., B.C,L., Lawyer and Family Mediator, Interlex Group of Canada

Father Joe Sullivan, B.Th., St. Aloyslus Parish

Father John Walsh, B.Ph,, S.S.L., S,T.L, St. John Brebeuf

Cindy Wiggins. B.A., Senior Researcher, Canadian Labor Congress